slideshow3 slideshow2 slideshow4 slideshow5


Paul Steer

1st Vice-president

Arabella Bowman

Sign Up for Mail List

TTOC Member


Welcome to the DTA Website


BCTF news release - Teachers re-elect leadership team

March 18, 2014

Teachers re-elect leadership team, affirm bargaining strategy
Vancouver—Topley, BC teacher Jim Iker of the Burns Lake District Teachers Union, has been re-elected for a second one-year term as president of the BC Teachers’ Federation. In addition, First Vice-President Glen Hansman from Vancouver Elementary and Second Vice-President Teri Mooring from Quesnel have also been re-elected to continue in their respective positions. Together, the three teachers will continue to lead the 41,000-member BCTF through the current round of negotiations and in all other areas of the Federation’s work.

“BC teachers are committed to reaching a fair and reasonable deal at the negotiating table,” BCTF President Jim Iker said today. “The 700 teacher delegates at the BCTF Annual General Meeting once again affirmed our leadership approach and bargaining goal; a fair deal for teachers that also provides better support for our students. That means a reasonable wage increase and improvements to class size, composition, and specialist staffing levels within the collective agreement.”

Also elected to serve as Members-at-Large on the BCTF Executive Committee were:

Carole Gordon, Kelowna
Karen Langenmaier, Comox
Norm Sabourin, Boundary
James Sanyshyn, Burnaby

They join current Members-at-Large David Komljenovic (Kamloops Thompson), Gail Chaddock-Costello (Langley), Paul Steer (Delta), and Teresa Grandinetti (Coquitlam).

- 30 -

Our Fearless Leaders at the AGM





Latest News

  • DTA Wants to Put an End to Public Education Cuts, posted...03 May 2013

    read more

  • BC Government's Math Doesn't Add up for Students, posted...08 May 2013

    read more

read all news

April 2014
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
   1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30   


all events